Sold Out!

Sixty-Six Years in Government


F.J. Brewer, R. Dunn.

An elegant souvenir record of the growth of the City of Brisbane from 1859 to 1925.

Out of stock


Brisbane: Brisbane City Council, 1925. First edition. Octavo, 19.5 x 13cm, pp. iv + 212, blue eps, a.e.g., numerous b&w illustrations of aldermen, civic buildings, important sites and signifcant events. Bound in full black morocco, gilt ruled with City of Brisbane crest and title on top board in gilt and ‘Brisbane City Council” in gilt on the spine.

Fine in Near Fine binding. Head and foot of spine gently rubbed, gilt slightly darkened at fore-corners.

A handsome souvenir to mark the transition from municipal government to the new Brisbane City Council. The City of Brisbane Act, passed by the Queensland State Governemnt in 1924, was introduced to set up a single government in Brisbane. Before this, the Brisbane area had been divided up into 20 local authorities and joint boards. In May 1925 outgoing Mayor Maurice J. Barry submitted a proposal that a historical sketch of the constitution and work of the Council of the City of Brisbane, as well as the progress of the city itself  from its establishment until the retirement of the present council be prepared and published in book form with suitable illustrations. The report was adopted unanimously and Brewer and Dunn, joint editors of the ‘Brisbane Centenary Official Historical Souvenir’,  were commissioned to undertake the task. William Jolley became the first Mayor of the new Brisbane City Council in October 1925.